About Screenwest


Board members are appointed by the Western Australian Minister for Culture and the Arts for a three-year period. Members are appointed according to their expertise and experience in areas relevant to ScreenWest's activities. 

Janelle Marr

Appointed onto ScreenWest Board in 2013; appointed as Chair June 2015; Term expires 31 December 2018.

Mrs Marr is Founder and Managing Director of StepBeyond, a consultancy specialising in strategy and sustainability across a range of sectors including health and community services; energy and resources; and environmental management.  She is an experienced strategist and facilitator with over 15 years’ experience providing advisory services in Perth, Melbourne and London and has considerable management consulting experience having worked in the advisory arms of both KPMG and Ernst & Young.

Mrs Marr is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and holds a Master of Business Administration from Mt Eliza Business School. She has held a range of directorships across social services including her current directorship with Diabetes WA.  She was recently awarded a coveted 40Under40 WA Business News Award for her contribution to community services through StepBeyond.


Amanda Higgs
Appointed December 2011; Term Expires 31 December 2017

Ms Higgs is an independent TV producer with a 13 part series, The Time of Our Lives, which screened in June 2013 on ABC1. Previously, Ms Higgs co-created and produced the first three series of the television drama The Secret Life of Us. The series won three Logies for Most Outstanding Drama Series and was nominated for a number of Australian Film Institute (AFI) and AWGIE Awards. The series also received a Bronze Medal at the New York Festival Awards for Best Television Program. Ms Higgs has worked at ABC TV Drama as an Executive Producer, and Acting Head of Drama in late 2009. She script edited The Slap and was executive producer on SLiDE for Fox8. Ms Higgs has also been on the board of the AACTA (formerly the AFI).

Sue Taylor
Appointed December 2011; Term Expires 31 December 2017

Ms Taylor has been a filmmaker for more than 25 years. Working across all types of productions ranging from documentaries, children’s drama, adult drama and feature films. She established her own production company in 2001 and has been nominated for numerous AFI, Logie and Critics Circle Awards for projects, which include the children’s series Minty and Time Trackers, the adult mini-series The Shark Net, the telemovie, 3 Acts of Murder, and feature films Last Train To Freo and The Tree

The Tree, an Australia / France co-production starring Charlotte Gainsbourg was selected to close the 2010 Cannes Film Festival and has now screened around the world with sales to 40 countries.  Ms Taylor recently completed the telemovie An Accidental Soldier, a co-production with Goalpost Pictures, directed by Rachel Ward.

Ms Taylor is also Vice President of the Screen Producer’s Association of Australia (SPAA) and a Board member of Screenrights.  

Aidan O'Bryan
Appointed 2008; Term expires 31 December 2016

After completing a degree in Philosophy and Political Science, Aidan moved from political research into online development and eventually into media production. In 2000 Aidan established WBMC; started producing for television; created the first television series in the world to incorporate SMS interactivity; and established Australia's most prolific television program legal download site.  Aidan wrote and directed Something In The Water, a feature rockumentary about the remarkable, disproportionate success of the WA music scene; co-wrote Hurt, a revolutionary interactive documentary about domestic violence; and has produced or executive produced the feature films Son of a Gun written and directed by Julius Avery and starring Ewan McGregor, Brenton Thwaites and Alicia Vikander; Wasted on the Young written and directed by Ben C. Lucas and starring Alex Russell, Oliver Ackland and Adelaide Clemens; and Ned Rifle written and directed by Hal Hartley and starring Parker Posey, Thomas Jay Ryan and Aubrey Plaza.

Stephen Langsford
Appointed 2008; Term expires 31 December 2016

Mr Langsford served as the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director at Quickflix Limited until 23 January 2008. For over 10 years, Mr Langsford has been involved in the development and operations of many large-scale e-business ventures. He founded Change Corporation Pty Ltd in 2002 and is responsible for driving the vision, values and strategic growth. Mr Langsford has a management consulting and funds management background having worked in high growth industries including media and entertainment, technology and financial services. He serves as an Executive Chairman at Change Corporation Pty Ltd. He has been the Executive Chairman at Quickflix Limited since 12 November 2009 and its Executive Director since 30 July 2003.

Carol Innes
Appointed July 2014; Term expires 30 June 2017

Ms Innes currently holds the position of Director Ngalla Kaartdijin Leadership Unit at the South West Aboriginal Land and Sea Council (SWALSC). This is a new role to the organisation concentrating on leadership development and skills development for Noongar people. Ms Innes has been employed at the SWALSC since 2006 and has worked on project development which maintained Noongar involvement in many areas through native title. Previous to this, Ms Innes spent 11 years working in the arts sector in the area of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander arts.  Ms Innes’ is experienced in government at both State and Federal levels and in the community arts sector. She is a mother and grandmother and is a very strong advocate for raising the profile of Noongar people in Western Australia.

Catherine Ferrari
Appointed January 2016; Term expires 31 December 2018

Ms Ferrari is General Manager Customer and Community at the Water Corporation and is currently the Deputy Chair of the West Australian Opera.  She was formerly Chief Executive of the WA Symphony Orchestra and State Director of CPA Australia.  


Christopher Holman 
Appointed January 2016; Term expires 31 December 2018

Mr Holman is the Director/ Owner of Azure Capital Limited and brings a wealth of corporate advisory experience including mergers and acquisitions, principal investments and capital markets transactions. He is also the Director of Aboriginal Maritime and a Director of Take 5 Safety Solutions.